PointsPlus Cooking

I love to cook. I love to bake.

This is not good for losing weight. I have been on the Weight Watchers PointsPlus plan for about two weeks. In the last week I have not cooked or baked anything! I make dinner, sure, but I didn’t try out any new recipes or make any of my husbands favorite cookies. It was boring!

Well the boring days are over…tonight! I tried out two new recipes I found in the Redbook magazine October issue! Tonight for dinner, we had chicken breasts, rice-a-roni, and balsamic-honey roasted squash! (The rice was from a box, but it’s so easy.) This is the first time I’ve ever cooked butternut squash and I loved it! Blake liked it too, which is such a surprise because he won’t eat vegetables. Here’s the recipe, in my own words:

Chicken & Squash

Balsamic-Honey Roasted Squash
Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees.
Cut one peeled butternut squash into one inch chunks.
Toss with one tablespoon of each honey, olive oil, balsamic vinegar.
Salt and pepper to taste.
Spread evenly on a baking sheet and roast for 25 minutes, stir twice.
Enjoy!

Seriously. It was so good, I can’t wait to make it again and again. The squash is zero points, and the oil and honey only add 1 point to each serving! I’m going to have to try out more squash recipes.

