Christmas Cookies

First of all, I did not and still do not want this blog to be a weight loss blog! I want it to be about all the things I enjoy. Which includes….BAKING!

For Christmas. my hubs got me a Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer! Its red, beautiful, shiny, and I love it! I’ve made cupcakes, brownies, frosting, and just today Christmas cookies!

My mixer hard at work!

I made special Whole Wheat Chocolate Mint cookies for a virtual cookie swap hosted by She Cooks, He Eats. Such a cute idea! Since I’ve already typed up the recipe figured I might as well share it here!

Whole Wheat Chocolate Mint Christmas Cookies
3/4 c. granulated sugar
3/4c. light brown sugar (packed)
1 c. (2 sticks) unsalted butter
1 egg
1/2 t. vanilla extract
1/2 t. almond extract (optional)
2 c. whole wheat all purpose flour
1 t. baking soda
1/4 t. salt
one bag (2 c.) of mint chocolate chips
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Cream together the sugars, butter, egg, vanilla and almond extract. If you don’t have any almond extract just use double the vanilla, but they are way better with that touch of almond! Mix together the flour, baking soda, and salt. Dough will be slightly crumbly. Fold in chocolate chips.
Bake for 8-12 minutes on a parchment paper covered baking sheet.
Enjoy with a tall glass of milk.

 

These are so good! And they are whole wheat, in fact I’ve tried to use the same recipe with white flour and they don’t turn out as well. You really have to try them for yourself. The one thing that makes them better than all other cookie….the almond extract! Which I actually learned by accident! I was making a quick batch one day and I didn’t have any vanilla extract, so I used almond. Completely changes the flavor!

*I should really learn to take pictures of things! I’m great at people….BAD at things! Better do some learning.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Cookies

Comments are closed.