Veggies Galore

First things first….Check out the cookie swap I participated in on She Cooks, He Eats! All those cookies look great, I’m going to have to try out some of those recipes.

Tonight I made a very delicious version of Chicken Pasta Primavera. I saw this recipe on the Food Network website a few days ago and I’ve been dying to make it my own! Its kind of a dump and cook thing.

Chicken Pasta Primavera
1 chicken breast
Olive oil
generous amount of favorite veggies (sweet onion, zucchini, mushrooms, green pepper, grape tomatoes, and baby carrots)
milk
chicken broth
whole wheat linguini or spaghetti noodles

Boil noodles in a pot of salty water. Meanwhile slice and cook the chicken in a little bit of oil, about 2 tsp, until no longer pink. Chop up veggies into smaller bite size pieces to decrease cook time. I also made my carrots into ribbons like the lady did in the original recipe because it sounded like fun!  Add the veggies to the saute pan until cook nearly all the way. Add in equal parts milk and chicken broth about 1/2 cup of each. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Yummy!

Side note: I never measure out my veggies, even when a recipe calls for a certain amounts. I figure I can eat as much vegetables as I want minus of course the starchy ones like potatoes, corn, and peas.

Since I was already chopping away I decided I should make a quick egg breakfast that I could just warm up in the microwave and eat on the way to work! So using the same veggies plus spinach I made like a crustless quiche. Just pile up your choice of chopped veggies in a baking dish. In bowl whisk up about 10-12 eggs (will depend on size of pan) with a little splash of milk. Pour the eggs over the veggies. Bake at 350 degree for about 45 minutes. You could also sprinkle some cheese on top if that how you like your eggs. It looks Oh So Good! Can’t wait for breakfast time to come!

