Fruit Vs. Dairy

I’m really trying to focus in on my weight loss goals right now. The holidays are over for the most part and its a good time for me to get really serious about eating healthy. I’ve decided to use a low-carb diet to jump start my weight loss.

Option 1: South Beach

About two years ago my best friend and I did the south beach diet for two weeks and I lost 14 lbs and kept it off a year. I didn’t start gaining weight again until I moved in with my hubs last December. I love bread and pasta. I always over do it with the carbs. I know that it will be difficult for me to avoid staying away from carbs forever, but I don’t want a forever plan. I want a “jump start” to get me going in the right direction and help motivate me. Doing this diet again would be mean no starches, no sugars, and no fruit! Ek! I also love fruit….but when I really think about it….I could go without for a few weeks. I’ve been trying to avoid sugars. I added sweet n’ low to a plain latte and found that I actually liked it. I also bought no sugar added ice cream and it tastes just like the regular stuff to me. I think this is totally do able!

Option 2: Paleo style

My friend’s mom has been doing this “caveman” diet for a while now and she is really successful. Sounded easy enough…you only eat whole non processed food that a caveman would have access to. Meat, veggies, fruit, nuts….healthy stuff. Still no starchy carbs like bread or pasta, but some followers of this diet believe its ok to have potatoes. Dairy is also not allowed. Now I don’t drink milk or really enjoy yogurt that much….but I can’t resist a latte. You wouldn’t be able to either if you worked at an espresso stand or two!

Option 3: Atkins

I’ve never tried this diet but it sounds like a lot of work to me! I don’t want to count my carbs ever. I do like the idea of find your individual carb needs but the trouble is 1 carb leads to too many for me. I think one is out! of the running. Sorry Dr. Atkins.

 

What Should I Pick?

For the last two days, I’ve been doing a combo of south beach and paleo. I’ve been avoiding added sugar and carbs, but I’ve had both fruit and dairy. Maybe a combo is the best one for me…I could limit both fruit and dairy products. I just wonder if it would be as effective that way? Sounds worth a try to me.

I’ve also been trying to cut out diet soda! I’ve been soda free since Sunday! I can do this!

5 thoughts on “Fruit Vs. Dairy

    1. mrsalexzan Post author

      Its really interesting, there are tons of variations to the diet too. I also feel water logged when I try to eat raw. I also have trouble digesting and cooking food helps to break it down a little better

  1. towardshealthylife

    I have tried a few diets (not those ones) and found that I always end up quiting because of all the restrictions. Now I count calories and even if it takes a bit of time I know I can do this for a long time because I can eat whatever I want as long as I stay within tha calorie allowance. It’s important to find the right thing for you and if combining a few diets works it’s great!

    1. mrsalexzan Post author

      I agree. Calorie counting is best for long term! The only reason I want to do the low carb things is because its a great motivator. When I lost the weight quickly before it helped to me to continue to eat healthy although I did start eating carbs again.

  2. Pingback: Weekend Getaway « Erin Says….

Comments are closed.