Saying Goodbye to Guilt

Yesterday I picked up the latest issue of Lady’s Home Journal because it was the special health addition. It’s not my favorite magazine ever but its cheap and I love magazines! Seriously. I have so many magazine in my spare room. I’m not sure why I keep them but oh well.

Well Brook Burke  in on the cover of this months issue, I don’t really know much about her except she is a host on Dancing With The Stars (a show I’ve seen one of two times) but she said something that really resonated with me! “Don’t do guilt. Guilt is a choice.”

It’s like a lightbulb went off in my head! Guilt is probably the number one emotion I feel. On a day-to-day basis I feel guilty about at least 20 things! Its absurd. I feel guilty because I sleep late, the house is a mess, I ate this or that, I haven’t worked out, we can’t afford something, I haven’t washed all the laundry, I had two lattes….on and on and on!

Well NO MORE! Who cares if I wake up at 6 or 7? It’s not like I’m sleeping through things I should be doing instead of what I’m currently doing, I always make it to work on time. Its my choice to decide what I eat, what exercises I do, and how much laundry I get done. Let’s be honest. If my husband really need something washed he knows how to use the washing machine. It’s not like I spend all day everyday lying around doing nothing….ok well sometimes I do. I don’t need to feel guilty because I’d rather watch a show than do dishes. That’s called life!

Of course that doesn’t mean things don’t need to get done. I still have to do the dishes, but I’m just not gonna feel guilty because I waited 20 minutes to get them done!

I probably won’t immediately stop feel guilty but I’m going to focus on letting go of these feelings. I’m looking forward to being free of guilt.

 

Source: waveavenue.com via Tim on Pinterest

One thought on “Saying Goodbye to Guilt

  1. Pingback: Color A Day – January Compilation « Color Nerd

Comments are closed.