1 Pound of Turkey, 3 Dishes

This week I wanted to keep my meal cheap and healthy. I’m pretty proud of how I stretched my buck!

With just one pound of turkey as my protein, I made spaghetti, a stuffed pepper, and white chili (3 servings).

I got the turkey last week when it was on sale buy one at $5.99, get on free. Can’t beat $3 a pound when it comes to lean ground turkey. Sometimes its like $8 a pound. My favorite meal of all time is spaghetti, so that was obvious. I’ve been craving stuffed peppers but Blake hates just about everything about them….so now it was the perfect time to make them. And one of my all time favorites is white chili with ground turkey, thanks to my old roomie. Here‘s a really great recipe for the chili, but I tend to just do my own thing using most of the same ingredients. As for the stuffed pepper, here’s my recipe.

 

 Erin’s Stuffed Peppers
-4 oz cooked ground turkey
-1 cup cooked rice pilaf (I found this on clearance only 50 cents a serving, Safeway brand freezer section)
-1 green bell pepper
-1/4 cup salsa
-2 tbsp cheese

Cut off the top of the green pepper and de seed. Mix together the meat, rice, and salsa in a bowl. Stuff the mixture into the pepper…pack it full! Sprinkle the cheese on top and bake at 375 degrees. I like my peppers crunchy but warm so I cooked it about 20-25 mins but if you like them soft you will want to cook it longer. This dinner was seriously delicious!  And only 330 calories!

 

I don’t know if Blake is going to be on the same shift next week or not but if he is I’ll be looking up some more healthy dinner ideas using similar ingredients! Makes things so easy and quick!

