Triathlon Training Schedule

So here it is March 1st.

The official start of my triathlon training. The triathlon is 14 weeks away. I’ve already started working on building up my running by using the Ease Into 5k iPhone app. (You can read about some of my runs here, here, and here.) I’m currently on week 3 of the program because I’ve only been doing it here and there, so now its time to step it up a notch. I’ve scheduled 3 runs per week. I feel like its important to have strong running skills because it comes last. So I will probably tired by the time it comes to run.

The middle part of the triathlon is biking. 13.1 miles. This should be the easiest. I mean I’ve been biking since I was a kid! However I have not biked 13 miles on the road before. I’ve done more than that on a spin bike….but its not the same. My plan for building up my biking is to slowly increase the time I spend on the bike. I don’t have a baseline for how long it should take me. So for the first 8 weeks of my training schedule is all time based. I will use iMapMyRide iPhone app to track my distance and speed. And re-evaulate what I need to do at the 8 week mark.

By far the hardest part of this for me will be swimming! I’m not the greatest swimmer in the world. I actually just learned how to swim for real like 3 years ago. Prior to the that I doggie paddled. Well no, I swam but I didn’t put my head in the water. I’ve found this plan online at Active.com. Its seems like a good plan for me, so I’m going to follow it. Its all distance based rather than time. Which is perfect because I need to be able to swim 500 meters.

I’ve created a calendar for me follow. Its set up in weeks rather than day by day because I never really know what my schedule will be like, it changes almost daily. Right now its set up for me to do 6 workouts a week, 3 runs, 2 bikes, and 2 swims and yoga. All but one of my runs and swims will be a brick day, which means I do two workouts that day. Preferably back to back, but I realize that sometimes that probably wont be likely. I’ve also schedule time for me to do weights, which will probably be a DVD at home. I feel like this important to be able to tone my muscles.

I scheduled myself 6 days a week of training because I think I can handle it, but if I feel like its too much I’m totally flexible to dropping a day. I’m just gonna have to try it out and see!

I’ve started with 8 weeks planned out. After the first 8 weeks, I will make a new plan. That way I can see where I am at and where I need to be. Its really important that I keep track of all my workouts so that I can see my improvements along the way.

You can take a look at my Triathlon Training schedule here. If you are looking for a plan, feel free to try mine out. And let me know how it goes! Good Luck.

English: Triathlon photographs from the Chinoo...

Image via Wikipedia

