Does What You Eat Matter?

Its Weigh In Day….coming in at 203.0! Thats a loss of 2.6 lbs from last week. Pretty good considering how I ate this weekend. But I really feel like I’ve been “back in the game” this week.

But I’ve also been changing up what I eat. As in I’ve been eating more veggies. Two days this week I’ve had salad with dinner, typically I’d rather have a piece of bread. I cooked fresh salmon one night and went meatless twice for dinner. I’ve also been having more whole wheat pasta(sometimes I get white pasta because its less calories), and fruit with breakfast everyday.

I have a hard time buying produce. I love fruit and veggies, I always have but my hubs….he doesn’t like anything! Well at least most of it. So when I buy a head of broccoli, I have to eat it all. I’m getting tired of throwing my money away when veggies go bad. Just the other day I threw out 3 yellow squash, 2 red peppers, and a tub of strawberries. Thats so wasteful I can’t stand it! I need to work on just buying one or two things and use those up, then go back for more. I don’t mind going to the store daily or every other day.

My little app has this nice pie chart that gives the percentage of carbs, fats, and protein I eat, I’m thinking its time to use it. I want to increase my protein and lower my carbs. I need to be mostly eating produce and meat, and eat a  smaller amount of grains. Maybe one serving of bread or pasta with each meal, and none with snacks, for a total of only 3 servings a day. I’ll have to see how this goes, because its going to have to be a something I think about rather than just grabbing what I want.

What are some of your favorites choices for produce? Do you ever pick white flour over whole wheat to save calories? I admit I do, but sometime its a huge difference. Like hamburger buns, they only have the large one in whole wheat but the smaller white ones are only 120 calories.

One thought on “Does What You Eat Matter?

  1. Pingback: SIZE 8! « Erin Says….

Comments are closed.