Here’s What I’ve Been Doing

If by chance you took a look at my Weekly Weigh-In page would see that I am down almost 2 pounds since last weigh in, which was actually two weeks ago. This morning I weighed in a 200.4 which I actually think is fantastic! Last week, I ate a bunch of junk including pizza, burgers and fries, even a milkshake with pie in it…Thank you Shari’s for inventing that one. Not exactly healthy.

Fortunately, that week “off” renew my energy and lead me directly into a week of great eating and lots of exercise. I think that last Thursday I was coming in at around 204, so to be back to 200’s feel great, but I have been putting a lot of effort into my weight loss. I changed my approach around, which I think is important, you really have to be able to try a bunch of things to find what works best for you, and be willing to be flexible.

So today I thought I’d share what I used to and what I’m doing now.

OLD: I used to eat between 1400-1600 calories every day regardless of how many I burned during a workout.
NEW: Now, I have a base number of calories set at 1200 and “earn” more when I work out. This is seriously helping me to get in my workouts in. I have worked out every single day this week. I even include taking my dog for a walk, usually about 30-45 minutes of walking.

OLD: Speaking of the dog, I was only taking Kia out when I went for a run 2-3 times a week.
NEW: I’ve been walking Kia down to the lake on days we don’t run. Its just around 2.3 miles there and back. This burns an extra 170-250 calories a day. Please don’t think I’m a bad dog mom, we do have a yard for her to play and run around, but I wasn’t taking her for walks specifically for her except on run days.  She has gone for a walk or run every day for a week now!

OLD: Never cooking at home.
NEW:  Even healthy picks are restaurants are some times heavy in calories, but this week I’ve eating dinner at home every single day! A big portion of this has to do with the fact that my work hours have been cut from around 50 to about 25, so I’ve actually had time to spend at home. I created my “own recipe” but its not really that complicated. I found this recipe on pinterest for Artichoke Shrimp Scampi, but I thought to myself I can do better! (No offense to the original recipe creator) I wanted to make it a little lighter and heartier at the same time.  Check out my recipe below! I also tried two “healthy” recipes for a grab and go breakfast bar/pastry, but neither one of those turned out good.

OLD: Functioned on less than optimal amounts of sleep.
NEW: I’ve been napping! Its really helping me to getting enough sleep so I don’t feel drained all. day. long.

Of course there is room for improvement, I’m definitely not getting enough veggies or water everyday. But overall, I think I’ve made some really healthy choices that are going to fuel my weight loss and keep me going in the right direction.

There’s one more thing thats really helping to motivate me. Stay tuned, but first here’s my recipe for Shrimp Scampi.

Hearty Heart-Healthy Shrimp Scampi

8-12 oz Whole wheat angel hair pasta
12-16 oz of large shrimp, peeled and deveined
1 tbsp of olive oil
1 organic (or not, thats fine too) yellow bell pepper, chopped
1/2 yellow onion, chopped
1 small jar or 1/2 can artichoke hearts
One clove of garlic
1/2 cup white wine.
Salt and pepper to taste
Fresh flat leaf parsley

1. Bring salted water to boil for pasta. Cook at directed on package, al dente.
2. Heat oil in skillet, when hot add in onion and pepper and saute for about 5 minutes, until they start to become translucent.
3. Add shrimp and garlic to skillet and saute until shrimp are starting to turn pink. When the veggies and shrimp are starting to get brown edges, pour in the wine. Feel free to add a little extra.
4. Let the wine reduce down to create a sauce, making sure to stir it to get the brown bits off the bottom of the pan.
5. Push all the veggies to one side of the pan and add the drained angel hair pasta to the other side. You will want to stir the noodles around to sort of fry off the excess water, then mix with the veggies. Add salt and pepper to taste and sprinkle the parsley on top. Or mix it.

This dish is right around 350 calories for one serving and its really fantastic, I’m going to make a tutorial soon that will have better step by step directions. If you happen to try this out, let me know how you like it! I think technically its not really a scampi because its doesn’t have butter, but oh well. I’m also going to have to figure out how to cook fresh artichokes one day.

3 thoughts on “Here’s What I’ve Been Doing

  1. kalima123

    Love how you’ve outlined your “old” versus “new” behaviors and all the positive changes you’ve made! Also going outside the box to modify a recipe to reflect how you’re eating now. You’re doing great!!

  2. Pingback: An Amazing Night « Erin Says….

Comments are closed.