A Kayaking Adventure

We have been talking about going kayaking since last summer and this weekend we finally did it! Kayaking is so much fun, we loved it!

Blake and I rented a two seater kayak from TriState Outfitters, a local sporting goods store. It only cost us $30 plus tax for a whole day rental, seemed like a good deal to me. The rental included the paddles and life jackets. We strapped our kayak to the top of the our jeep and away we went! Oh with one pit stop at Walmart to pick up some snacks, and a Discovery Pass (required to park a vehicle in a Washington state park).
20120724-194047.jpg
We decided to kayak at Deep Lake, which is inside the Sun Lake/Dry Falls state park. This is a really popular lake in our area, in fact this is the lake where I first learned to go cliff jumping! Yes, we jump off cliffs into the lakes around here, and its a blast. This lake was ideal for our first kayaking adventure because its relatively small, about 1.5 miles long, and there is a speed limit of 5 mph.

Most of the tourists and swimmers stay to the front of the lake so once we got a few hundred feet we were out there on our own with the birds, even a blue heron! This trip is one of those times when I wish I had my own personal photographer because I couldn’t take a camera in the kayak because I’m super clumsy and seriously would have dropped it in the lake.

Once we paddled to the end of the lake, we parked our boat on some rocks and got out to enjoy our snacks. Healthy snacks of course; plums, pretzels, sunflower seeds, and beef jerky. After snack time we took a swim in the beautifully clear blue water. It was perfect. Shortly after that we headed back to the dock, this time into the wind, so it was slightly harder.

This was seriously one of the best afternoons we had together! We are definitely going to be doing this again, maybe even getting our own kayak. And I’m so super happy to cross another thing off my 2012 Bucket List! Actually, make that two, because I wore my bikini in public for the first time!

20120724-194145.jpg

3 thoughts on “A Kayaking Adventure

  1. Pingback: My Great Alaskan Adventure Days 5-7 or The First 3 Days Of The Adventure Tour « carefullcook

Comments are closed.