Summertime Kabobs

When I’m choosing a recipe, I’m kind of a freak about it. I do not like recipes with lots of ingredients, I’d say if there is more than, maybe 8 ingredients, I’ll skip the recipe. If its seems like a lot of work, I’ll pass. I like the easy ones, I like the ones with short ingredients lists. Cheaper ingredients make recipes even better. I’m more of Ten Dollar Dinners or 5 Ingredient Fix type of chef.

With that being said, when I was browsing recipes for my next dinner there, I found two recipes I wanted to try. They both came from the Food Network iPhone app, under the Light Fare tab. One had only 4 ingredients, and one had a lot more. I went back and forth in my mind but something just drew me to the one I wouldn’t usually pick. Although I did end up picking everything I needed for both recipes.
I tried to take pictures every step of the way but I’m not the best at remembering to do that. I’ve share the recipe below with my pictures inserted. (If you see * that means I made a little change.)

Now here’s what I loved about this recipe!

  • It called for couscous which I had leftover from this recipe.
  • Skewers! Who doesn’t love eating food on a stick? Plus now we have tons of extra skewers for more summer fun!
  • Perfect as leftovers, I ate this for lunch and breakfast the next day! I just added scrambled eggs to a de-skewered kab0b!
  • Seriously delicious. Seriously. I was worried about the “pesto” but it was so good mixed in the couscous.
    * check for the stars to see where I made a few changes

Sausage-and-Pepper Skewers (courtesy of Food Network magazine)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup couscous
  • 2 bell peppers (red and yellow), cut into chunks*I used green, because they were cheaper.
  • 1 (12-ounce) package chicken sausage (preferably garlic-flavored), cut into 1-inch pieces * I used Spinach & Feta Chicken Sausage, so good!
  • 1 large red onion, cut into chunks
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro
  • 4 scallions, roughly chopped
  • 1 tablespoon white wine vinegar

Directions

Soak eight 8-inch skewers in water, at least 15 minutes. Preheat a grill or grill pan to medium high. Prepare the couscous as the label directs. * I cooked mine in the broiler for the same amount of time!

Meanwhile, toss the bell peppers, sausage, onion and tomatoes in a bowl with 1 tablespoon olive oil; season with salt and pepper. Thread onto the skewers, alternating the sausage and vegetables. Grill, turning, until the vegetables are slightly softened and the sausage begins to brown, 6 to 7 minutes.

Meanwhile, puree the parsley, cilantro and scallions in a blender with the remaining 2 tablespoons olive oil, the vinegar and 2 tablespoons water. Season with salt and pepper. Brush the skewers with some of the pesto and continue to cook, turning, until the tomatoes are tender and the sausage is charred, 6 to 7 more minutes.

Toss the couscous with half of the remaining pesto and season with salt and pepper. Serve with the skewers and the remaining pesto, for dipping.

Per serving: Calories 396; Fat 13 g (Saturated 2 g); Cholesterol 56 mg; Sodium 356 mg; Carbohydrate 45 g; Fiber 5 g; Protein 24 g

English: Logo for Food Network

English: Logo for Food Network (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

5 thoughts on “Summertime Kabobs

  1. Bella

    Looks delicious and so easy!! I’m making this sometime next week!! (I have everything in my fridge/pantry for this!).

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up « Erin Says….

  3. Pingback: Successful Summer Weigh-In Update – Week 9 « Bella on the Beach

  4. Pingback: Burn, Baby, Burn or How I Cooked Two Dinners in One Night « Bella on the Beach

Comments are closed.