Another Thing Off The List

One of the things on my 2012 Bucketlist was to grow a garden that actually produced something.

I’ve had a vegetable garden for the last 3 years. The first year, it basically died two weeks after I planted it. Last year, I planted a bunch of stuff and my dogs ate it. Yup all of it! I was ticked!

This year, I went all out!
I started my garden from seed in the house and I had tons of plants, too many to fit my little tiny garden square. Some have died but some have flourished! I currently have 5 tomato bushed, 2 bell pepper plants, 2 jalapeno plants, a little cluster of onions, and a cauliflower plant. For fruits, I have a big planter of strawberries and a blueberry bush!

So far I have harvested a handful of strawberries, and a few tomatoes here there.  However, this week, I had my best harvest yet!

My pride and joy! My favorite fruit, blueberries! There were only 4 but they were delicious! I can’t wait until next year!

I had four cherry tomatoes ready for picking today! There are a bunch more on the vine so I’m totally excited to pick more. I planted these from starts I grew in my window sill, so that makes them extra special to me!

There are a few tiny little peppers growing. I’m really hoping to get a head of cauliflower, but so far its a bunch of leaves so far. And I think I will get some onion although they might be small. I planted the start in one hole and apparently I was supposed to break it up! Whoops!
I’m really happy about my about little garden! I can’t wait to have a better one next year! I also just started some herbs in my window last Monday.

Also for the first time I had a flower bed in the front of my house, and it actually did really well too! I planted daffodils, violets, poppies, and two little bushes. I’ve has lots of flowers all summer, it looks really nice except I sorta let the weeds grow too much lately. I’m gonna fix that tomorrow.

Now there is a few things left on my bucket list like take a yoga class which is in the works! I also have some bigger weight loss goals but you already know how that’s going!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Another Thing Off The List

  1. Bella

    How exciting – the first fruits of your labors.
    My sis planted a garden that we share watering duties for, and so far we’ve had lots of tomatoes, cucumbers, and peppers. We have a blueberry bush, but it hasn’t produced too many berries (the ones we did get were good, though).

  2. towardshealthylife

    So happy for you as I understand the pride and the will to learn gardening. I am the same, I only have to tomato plants and 2 ground cherries plant this year(from seeds ) and I made 2 side dish out of my tomatoes yet! I have bigger plans for next year as well. :-)

  3. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up #3 | Erin Says….

Comments are closed.