Forgotten Treasure: The Library

When I was younger, my cousins, siblings, and I would walk to the library at least once a week. We loved the library. Our library had a summer reading program and you could earn free books based on the number of pages you read. I earned a lot of books! So many that I got bored of choosing books so I would just pick at random. I found many great books this way, like The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks.

As I’ve grown older, I’ve forgotten about the library. But a few weeks ago, money was tight and I was itching for a new book so I headed to my local public library.

The library it’s self is nothing special to look at; there are many shelves of books, audio books, movies, several computers, and a children’s corner.  However, the services they offer is astonishing, I mean the services are all free! No cost at all. Its really unbelievable.

Here are the top five free library services I think are the best!

1. Newspapers and magazines
They have up to date subscriptions of all the local and regional newspapers. They also have current and past magazine issues. This is really nice if you are on a budget!

2. Movies.
I always knew the library had copies of some documentaries but did you know they have new releases as well? I’ve check out several new releases lately, like The Vow. They also have a big assortment of workout DVDs, more than any retail store in my city. I love this because I’ve been in the situation where I just spent $10 or $15 on a workout DVD just find out I hate the instructors voice. Now I can buy a DVD after I’ve tried it out because I was able to check it out from the library. This is also a great way to try out new types of work outs. (especially for those of us who have directv which cancelled their exercisetv channel!) I recently tried out two yoga DVDs and I loved them.

3. Mail Order Collection
My library offers books and movies to be mailed to your home. This is great for people who are busy, you can just pop online and request that a book me mailed to you. It’s so simple and easy. I’ve done this with movies too, it’s like Netflix for free.

4. E-Books
Is there anything better than a free e book? I think not. To be able to download e books on your kindle, iPad, or other e-reader just take your device to your library and follow the instructions they have posted, and voila free e-books!

5. Online Catalog
The online catalog is probably the best feature of all. I don’t know how many times I’ve been looking at a magazine a see a book recommendation that interests me, only to forget about it 5 minutes later. Now when I see one, I just grab my iPhone, go to the library website and see if they have it. Luckily, my library is linked with a bunch of other libraries so if they don’t have it in my town, I can have it sent over using the inter-library loan system. You can also place a hold on book so that if it is checked out, the library staff will reserve it for you. Once the book is ready for you to check out, they send you an email. I also receive an email when a book i have is almost due back, which is really helpful when I have books checked out that are due back at various dates.

I’m so glad I found the library again, I’ve really enjoyed discovering all that the library has to offer.

I encourage you to visit your local library soon! And if you do take advantage of these great services, be sure to donate to the library when you can to ensure these fun services are available for many years!

See my latest library finds below!

3 thoughts on “Forgotten Treasure: The Library

  1. DrinkWaterEatOatmeal

    The public library in my city is HUGE and GORGEOUS!! And walking to it is an exercise bonus :)

    1. mrsalexzan Post author

      I’m kind of jealous! Ours is old and ugly! but they do have a beautiful 9/11 monument, made from basalt columns (a specialty around here) I will have to take a picture of it.

Comments are closed.