New Goal: Half-Marathon

The newest issue of Women’s Health magazine has a 10 week training plan for a half marathon. As soon as I saw it I knew it was made for me!

20120821-070601.jpg

I’ve been toying with the idea of training for a half marathon, but never really committed to it until I saw this particular plan.

I wish I could find it online to share it with you. It has 3 days of running, 3 days of cross training, and a day of rest. I think it will be easy to adjust the schedule when something comes up, like an opening shift at work or something. Or to take an extra day of rest on a cross training day if I need it.

The cross training days say to bike, walk, use the elliptical, or any form of cardio, but I’ve decided to do weight training. I found a circuit training workout in the same issue of the magazine that I’ve been doing a few times a week. It includes cardio, plus I will be taking my Kia for walks everyday that we don’t run. I really want to tone up my arms and get some muscles! This circuit workout is no joke, it works l the muscle groups and I’m dripping with sweat by time it’s over. I’m also planning on taking a yoga class starting mid September so that will also fall on a cross training day.

This plan also had different types of runs which is something I really need, I usually just start running with no idea of a pace or timing what so ever. I’d love to be faster at running and the only way to do so is to follow some kind of plan to teach your body what running faster feels like. (I read a great article about this, that I will find and share.)

I’m starting this training this week, yesterday was supposed to be a cross training day, but I took it as a rest day because I didn’t feel very good (it all goes back to my sleeping problem). I plan on making up for it on the regularly scheduled rest day. My first real run will be today.

The first week of training looks like this:

20120821-072402.jpg

TT: timed trial. Warm up for 1 mile, followed by 2 miles at near maximum effort. Record time and try to beat it next time.

I’m looking forward to having something to work towards. I made this bulletin board as inspiration.

20120821-073012.jpg

7 thoughts on “New Goal: Half-Marathon

  1. trikatykid

    What half marathon are you going to run? There’s a fun one in Sisters, OR for women Nov 4th .. not sure if that’s enough time for you to train. They give a belt buckle as the medal. I’m aiming for it but nothing is set in stone yet. :)

    1. mrsalexzan Post author

      That sounds like fun! I haven’t picked one yet I figured I’d wait and see how things go for a few weeks then decided. Even if I don’t run an actual race I plan on having my own half marathon day.

  2. Pingback: Successful “First Run” « Erin Says….

  3. Pingback: Erin Says….

  4. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up #3 | Erin Says….

  5. Pingback: Week Three Training Schedule | Living Made Healthy

Comments are closed.