Baked Billy Beans

You might be asking yourself what’s a billy bean? Blake and I were just asking ourselves that same question a few weeks ago when took a road short road trip to Eastern Washington for a motorcycle engine.

The last time I mentioned this road trip, I said don’t even ask! But now that my temper has cooled I can tell you that someone doesn’t know how to follow directions on the map iPhone app and we spent 3 1/2 driving through amber waves of grain (wheat), when it should have only taken about 25 minutes. And we almost hit a deer, good thing Blake was driving!

But anyway, around here folks kindly label their crops so everyone can tell what they are growing! Maybe the do that everywhere? Well every so often we would see crop signs that said “billy beans.” I whipped out my phone. Thank goodness for the iPhone right? Where would we be with out them?

After some searching we found out that Billy Beans are just chickpeas aka garbanzo beans. They are called Billy Beans in the United States because of some guy named Billy, although chickpeas is probably the most accurate name for them because they more related to peas than to beans. So now you know some facts about Billy Beans aka Garbanzo Beans aka Chickpeas! Check out this site for some more facts! The reason we were seeing the crops in our parts is because they are used in a rotation with wheat. Neato!

I saw this recipe for Sweet & Salty Baked Chickpeas on pinterest and knew I had to try them! Here’s my version:

Garlicy Baked Billy Beans
1 can chickpeas
1/2 tbsp olive oil
garlic powder and salt to taste

Rinse beans, bake at 400 degree for 35-45 minutes, then toss with the oil and seasoning! Eat right away! Enjoy this super protein packed snack!

These were good! Very crunchy! They would be a nice addition to a salad instead of croutons! As soon as I buy some sugar will try the sweet and salty recipe!

3 thoughts on “Baked Billy Beans

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up #3 | Erin Says….

Comments are closed.