Triple D: Dinner, Drinks, & Dessert

One of the perks of house sitting for my in laws was bowl after bowl of fresh tomatoes! Seriously last week I was eating tomatoes for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Blake and I also took a trip to our Farmer’s Market this weekend. I have a great idea for a post but that will have to wait until next weekend but here’s a sneak at what we picked up.

20120904-131913.jpg

3 small eggplants, green beans, peaches, raspberries, and blueberries. (The pears actually came from a orchard near my in laws house.)

With a huge bucket of tomatoes and all this fresh produce, I set off to search for a new recipe to incorporate everything!

I found this recipe for Sun Dried Tomatoes and Chicken Sausage Ragu, all I needed to buy was the wine, red pepper, and sausage.

However, I don’t like sundried tomatoes so I omitted them! Here’s a shot of all the ingredients minus the oil.

20120904-132416.jpg When I started cooking I found out that the tomatoes in the bottom of my bowl had rotted, so I had to buy more.

Tomato, Eggplant, and Chicken Sausage Ragu (Adapted)

2 cups cherry tomatoes, cut in half
2 cups diced eggplants, 1/2 inch
1 cup diced white onion
1 diced red pepper
1 garlic clove, diced or minced
2 tbsp olive oil
Salt & pepper
1 package of chicken sausage, cut into 1/4 inch slices
1/2 cup wine
1 cup of tomato sauce
1/4 chicken stock
Fresh basil to garnish

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
1. Prepare an oven pan with nonstick spray, mix the chopped veggies in the pan.

2. In a small bowl, mix the oil, garlic, salt, and pepper. Drizzle over veggies, stir to coat evenly. Roast veggies in oven for about 40 minutes.

3. Brown the chicken sausage in skillet on stove top. You could use a little oil here or more spray, I didn’t need to because I got a new non stick pan that doesn’t need spray! (even for eggs!)

4. After the chicken is browned, add the wine and allow to simmer for 1-2 minutes. Then add the chicken broth or stock and tomato sauce. Allow to simmer for several minutes so it can cook down a little.

5. When the veggies are done, pour the sauce over them and mix it up so everything is coated nicely.

6. Enjoy!

I ate this plain for dinner last night and then I realized it was probably supposed to be a sauce over pasta or something. So today I cooked up some whole wheat penne to have with the leftovers.

20120904-134326.jpg

This is a really good way to get added veggies to a carb heavy dish like spaghetti. It had a lot of flavor, very tomatoey which I loved! Lately, I haven’t liked any of the jar sauces I buy, and I keep buying different ones in hopes of finding one we like. This time I bought the cheap kind because I knew I would be doctoring it up, I could have just bought plain tomato sauce.

Since I had wine I figured I better have sangria!

20120904-134721.jpg
The V8 sparking juice was something new I bought this weekend because I had a coupon. I like to try new drinks like this because I don’t drink soda anymore. It’s really good! I will buy it again if I get more coupons.

I also made Vanilla Cupcakes with Raspberry frosting that I found on The Biggest Loser website. Which turned out to be harder than expected! Apparently when you need to fluff egg whites there can’t be even a drop of yolk in there!

We didn’t love these. They were spongy and beyond bland. Blake is convinced frosted cardboard would taste better, maybe I did something wrong, but we won’t be making them again. I did take a picture of the final product.

20120904-135237.jpg

Hey, at least my wrappers were cute!

