Happy Tears

Sometimes when people ask me how much weight I’ve lost I say “only” 22 pounds.

Sometimes I feel like I haven’t lost very much weight. And I try to justify it by saying, well I can run 7-8 miles nonstop.

Sometimes I think that I’m a phony, for thinking I’m a runner.

Then I see this…

20120906-142211.jpg

And my eyes fill with tears! I’m so happy and healthy now. I literally forgot I was ever that big. I was so unhappy and miserable in every aspect of my life. I had a job where I was unappreciated, in a respect-less relationship, no friends, and no self respect. I hated everything.

Today, I am in the best shape of my life. I am a runner, I’ve been consistently running for 9 months, I can run up to 8 miles without stopping (I know I can do more but I haven’t tried yet!). I am a triathlete! I’ve lost 22 pounds this year. 35 pounds from my heaviest weight in Nov 07. People ask me for weight loss advice! And most importantly, I am happy!

I have an amazing husband, a job that I love and I know I’m appreciated every single day, and I have the best friends in the world!

I couldn’t have done any of this without my support system; Blake, Kate, & Tara! Also a few blog friends that I’ve really come to cherish; Drinkwatereatoatmeal,& trikatykid! The advice and encouragement I receive from these friends, it’s amazing! I couldn’t ask for better people in my life!

I’m so thankful for every single day! I’m thankful to know that I am healthy now and nothing will change that. When I feel discouraged, I can just look at that picture and see that I have come so very far! I’m a completely different person!

4 thoughts on “Happy Tears

  1. DrinkWaterEatOatmeal

    YOU, my dear, are one impressive woman!! Talk about such an admirable, strong WARRIOR! This is a fantastic post and I’m so very glad you are able to see in yourself what we all see in you :) you’re a success story no matter how you slice it. Way to go!! And I cherish our blogging friendship as well! I very much so look forward to reading your new posts. Cheers to you and all the hard work, lady!

Comments are closed.