AM or PM

20120911-132722.jpg

20120911-132742.jpg

Are you a morning person or a night owl?

I have always been a night an evening person! I really come to life after 5 pm. I uses to clean my bedroom late at night, rearranging furniture until late hours when my mom when yell at me to go to bed. I’ve always been the type of person to stay up reading until way past 2 am.

However, I was terrible at working the graveyard shift, luckily I only did it a few months. Far too often, my butt was on the line because I feel asleep….again.

I also get my best workouts in at night. In fact, I loathe working out in the morning…it’s right up there next to snakes in the list of things I hate the most.

With the days getting shorter and my runs getting longer, I’ve had to run in the mornings lately. I hate it! I find when I workout in the mornings, I don’t try very hard. I know that I don’t work nearly as hard as I do in the evenings, but at the same time each step feels harder that usual.

I also feel gross and sweatier than usual. The only way to combat this is to shower before I head out, which seems counterproductive. Shower, run, shower. What a waste!

I’m just a little sluggish in the mornings, I liked to lay in bed for a long time. The last few weeks, I’ve been waking up at about 6:30 then I lay in bed and check my email, facebook, and read my favorite blogs. Then I finally I get my self up and fix breakfast, hit the shower, and watch tv. This morning I got myself out the door for my run around 9:00, so basically I wasted 2 hours.

The funny thing is that on days I have to be up early for whatever reason, I have no problem jumping out of bed and getting ready right away. Although, trying to get up earlier in order to workout would be out of the question.

I’ve heard that waking up and working out gets easier. I’m going to keep trying but it sure sucks!

Which do you prefer morning workouts or later in the evening?

2 thoughts on “AM or PM

  1. trikatykid

    I prefer afternoon/early evening workouts because I don’t like being approached by a deadline (time to go to work). I find that my workouts in the morning are half-assed, not because I’m tired or lazy, or would rather be watching the news and drinking coffee on the couch. But because I can’t get into it because of that approaching deadline! Last night I got started on my run a little late – the sun set on me. I really enjoyed running as hard as I could to get home before ‘pitch dark’ but if that ‘pitch dark’ had been ‘time to go to work’ it would not have been nearly as enjoyable. I am somewhere in the middle of a night person/morning person. I like to be in bed around 10-11 pm. I like to be up between 6:30-7:30 am. Good post. You’re right – the days are starting to get noticeably shorter!! EEP!

Comments are closed.