A Smokey Morning Hike

This morning, the lovely Kate & I took a hike up a mountain! Or maybe it’s a hill, but when you are walking up it feels like a mountain!

In high school, it was tradition for the track team to run up “Beezley”, aka the mountain we tackled this morning. I remember seriously looking forward to that day each track season, my friend and I would run when we could and walk when we needed, but somehow we always managed to run the steep parts and walk the easier parts.

20120912-152328.jpg

Here you can see the elevation, the first mile or so we actually missed the trail that headed up. Whoops! My fault, I had forgotten exactly where to go because it had been a few years since I’ve been to the top.

We were a little worried about there being a lot of smoke up there. Just on the other side of the hills that line our beautiful Columbia Basin, is a huge wildfire, about 45 miles from our town. As of yesterday the fire was 0% contained, I haven’t heard anything today. We basically live in a canyon where smoke settles, so smoke from fire everywhere filters right to us.

20120912-154101.jpg

20120912-154028.jpg

These are from the fire a few days ago.

Luckily, while it seems very smoky right now there wasn’t more or less at the top of the hill!

20120912-154652.jpg

The Top Of The World! Ok just Ephrata! We had a really good time even though it was a very though workout. At the top we called my mother in law to see if she could see us. And she could! But we were like specks.

20120912-155854.jpg

