Yoga Class & A New DVD

One of the last things to cross of my 2012 Bucketlist was take a yoga class. I’ve used yoga DVDs at home for a couple of years now, and I even did a yoga bootcamp at home last Novemeber using a program I found on ExerciseTV.But I’ve always wanted to go to yoga class because I felt like it would be more challenging and fun, however, in my little town of Moses Lake there are no yoga studios. Luckily, the Parks and Rec department offers a few yoga classes although the schedule is very limited, I was able to find a class that works with my schedule on Monday nights.

I really enjoy my class, its led by a woman, and her husband helps out with positioning and adjustments. The moment I walked into class on the very first day, I felt welcome. They both introduced themselves and remember my name right away. During the first two weeks I was still pregnant, which I had mention to her so she was quick to offer alternatives to the moves I should have avoided. Then when I was back to class after surgery, I let her know what happened to I could get the full benefits from the class. I felt very fortunate that she did not draw attention to me and my situation because I would have been embarrassed. She even offered to let me attend the other class on Thursdays which is led by another lady to make up the one I missed, but it won’t work with my schedule.

Overall, I really like the class, for the most part, its more about getting a good stretch rather than physical activity like most of the DVDs I own. Which after a hard workout like I did yesterday, it feels really good to get that guided stretch.

I would definitely sign up for another class! The class is post-poned for the next two weeks but I plan to use my DVDs at home on a more regular basis anyway so I will still be getting a good stretch.

*I’m sorry I didn’t take any pictures, but its kind of awkward to take pictures during class.

Yesterday I had trouble getting myself motivated to workout, I was tired from working the morning shift, which meant a 4:00 am wake up but I got my self in gear and got it done. I did Jillian Michael’s Extreme Shed and Shred, she means business in this one. I just bought it the other day and I’ve done it three times, only two all the way through and it’s killer.

I was totally exhausted afterwards!

Here’s proof!

I also got these new yoga pants…in a medium! I love the lime green zebra detail. My only complaint is that the waist band is really small so it rolls down. I like the ones with fat waist bands.

Today I’m trying something totally new….Pilates. My mother in law gave me some weird Pilates machine and I have no idea how it works but I’m going to give it a shot! So be sure to check back.

In totally unrelated news, two people told me that I look like two different people with my hair up vs being down. What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Yoga Class & A New DVD

  1. Pingback: Looking At The Bigger Picture | Living Made Healthy

Comments are closed.