Scheduling

I’m having my trouble with scheduling of sorts, in multiple ways.

Let’s see, I have been seriously conflicted about making plans with friends and such. For example, two weekends ago my husband wanted to go shooting with his friends and wanted me to go with them, but I wanted to stay home and workout. He didn’t want to go without me, so I ended up caving and going. I ended up taking that day as a rest day, which actually worked out fine but that’s not the only time I’ve been in this kind of situation.

A few days ago my sister in law invited me over for lunch but I declined because I didn’t want to be in the situation where I turned down what she made because its not something I wanted to eat right now. I find that some people do not understand why I do what I do. Some of my friends and family would not understand if I said no I can’t hang out because I need to go for a run or workout.

See my conflict, I don’t know if I should be putting my social life on hold to reach my goals. How wrong is that I would prefer to reach my goals rather than hang out with friends?

Secondly, my next concern is should I make a workout schedule? In the past, when I’ve created a schedule I’ve always ended up bailing on it. Part of me, thinks that by allowing myself to do what I feel like on any given day is part of the reason I have no trouble doing it every day. If I don’t feel like going on a run…I don’t, I do a workout video instead. If I’m terrible sore (like today I might add) I would do yoga and maybe a run instead of a weight lifting exercises. Here’s the catch, I want physical results, not just weight loss but toned muscles and a flat tummy. I recently saw a photo of girl who did the Insanity 60 day program and she got amazing results. Now I don’t have Insanity, but I firmly believe I could use the DVDs I have to get nearly the same results, but I think that will require a schedule. Abs on certain day, cardio on a certain day, and so on…

I know its really dumb, but I’m worried that if I don’t feel like following the schedule, I will end up giving up. Obviously, I know that I’m the only one that decided if I quit or not. Its just a matter of wanting it bad enough.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Scheduling

  1. livingthesweetlifestl

    I have tried making these elabroate workout schedules before and have gotten discouraged after missing a few workouts and then giving up…something that I have recently started doing is making my schedule for the week on Sunday night/Monday morning…and only making it for that week. I feel like it is less pressure and I always give myself the option of changing the workout if I am too sore or feel like doing something else instead.

  2. Pingback: Looking At The Bigger Picture | Living Made Healthy

  3. Bella

    I think you answered your own question about making the workout schedule. What you’re doing now is working well, so why make changes? If you setting a solid workout plan would make you want to rebel, then don’t do it.

    As for skipping social outings in favor of your goals, I do the same thing. I’m not sure if it’s the right thing to do, but for me, it makes sense. I remember going to a WW meeting a long time ago where the leader said, “everyday can be a special occasion (reason to go off plan) if you let it.” Since then, I’ve been a lot more selective about the outings that I take on that might derail me from my goals. I also try to set up more non-food events, and that seems to work well, too.

Comments are closed.