Food Hangover?

Is a food hangover a real thing? I’ve never thought so, until this weekend. I always kind of joked about food hangovers, but I’m pretty sure I experienced the worst food hangover ever yesterday.

You see on Sunday we had dinner at my in laws. It turned out to be a little Thanksgiving dinner with turkey, cornbread stuffing, scalloped corn, sweet potato casserole, mashed potatoes and rolls. I was totally unprepared for this, I thought it would be regular family dinner. Except all those dishes are fully loaded carb dish. I felt like I had no choice but to eat what was served. I guess I could have ate just turkey, but that seemed a little ridiculous.

In this particular instance, the problem was how much I ate rather than what I ate. I gorged myself. I seriously ate so much, it’s rather unbelievable. Then add in the pie I had a few hours later and it’s easy to see how I ended up with a food hangover.

I could have easily had a small scoop of the side dishes and been done. Instead, I ate until I puked, literally, on the way home Blake had to pull the car over because I was sick. I’m so ashamed of myself. This is the reason I’m shunning carbs right now because I’m out of control when I eat them.

All day yesterday I felt sick. I skipped breakfast because I was sick to my stomach, I skipped my workout because I felt completely exhausted, I cried myself to sleep in the middle of the day because I was emotionally drained. I was sick again after dinner even though I ate a light heathy dinner.

I did learn a lesson though. All day when I was suffering through the sickness I forced myself to associate this illness with over eating. I made my brain recognize that horrible feeling with stuffing my face. I know it seems kind of weird, but I felt like that’s only way to make a chance. I need to realize how awful it felt to be laying in bed crying my eyes out instead of working out because that’s what will help me to make a permanent change in my eating habits. That’s what will force me to gain control over the amount of bread and noodles I eat.

I originally intended to allow myself to eat whatever I want on Thanksgiving. But since I took advantage of our early Thanksgiving, I think a more controlled approach is in order. Blake and I will be partaking in two Thanksgivings this year, an early lunch at my Mom’s and dinner at his family’s.

At my Mom’s place I have a little more control over what is served. I am in charge of the turkey, the stuffing, and sweet potato casserole. I’ve been searching for a healthier way to prepare turkey without tons of butter and salt, there are tons of options out there. The sweet potatoes are a recipe Blake’s grandma gave me and they don’t believe in making something healthy, but I know I can cut down on the amount of sugar in it and it will still be delicious. I also have half a head of cauliflower in my fridge that I plan on taking and roasting for myself because my sister isn’t planning on serving the healthiest of veggie dishes…. She is making bacon fried brussel sprouts. At my Mom’s house I don’t feel guilty about making accommodations for myself and my chosen lifestyle.

I’m also making a lighter version pumpkin cheesecake, that I will take both places. I plan on making a small one in a ramekin for myself to avoid the graham cracker crust.

At Blake’s family’s house things are a little different, they have very strong family traditions. Since I will have already eaten at Mom’s, I plan to have a small amount of my favorite dishes and that’s it. I will spend my time enjoying the company rather than the food.

I’m not expecting perfection. I know it’s unreasonable to expect myself to eat a salad while everyone else is eating turkey and pie. But I can do it, I don’t have to sacrifice my goals to enjoy a holiday. I can enjoy my families and good food without suffering through another food hangover.

Tomorrow, I will be making the pumpkin cheesecake. I will share the recipes and some links to healthier way to prepare delicious traditional dishes. Stay tuned! And keep up the hard work!

2 thoughts on “Food Hangover?

  1. DrinkWaterEatOatmeal

    ahh! I hate that feeling of being too stuffed, it just feels awful on so many levels. but hey, it happens. I’m glad you’re looking for better options for turkey, to avoid tons of butter and salt- good for you! You could use things like thyme, lemon, rosemary, and lots of other herbs and spices to make it super delicious without the addition of anything but flavor :)

  2. Alyssa @ DoubleChinDiary.com

    I’m so sorry you got sick! I’ve totally done that and I absolutely believe in a food hangover. Now since the majority of the food I eat is healthy and unprocessed, when I splurge on say, movie popcorn – I pay for it the next morning by spending time on the toilet :/ Sounds like you have a plan to prevent it from happening again!

    Also thank you for your supportive comments on my blog. I really appreciate it! <3

Comments are closed.