The Healing Power Of Chai Tea

20121209-212252.jpg

This a little trick I learned last cold and flu season. Whenever I’m stuffed up or have a sore throat, or even just feel “yucky”, I drink a hot chai tea. All the spices in the tea help to clear up cold symptoms better than DayQuill.

Its true, I even did some research.

Several of the spices in chai may help a sore throat heal. For example, cinnamon, cloves and ginger are rich in essential oils that many have antimicrobial properties. They also support good circulation, which encourages quicker healing. Nutmeg and cardamom may relieve irritation by helping to keep your throat moist. Star anise contains an ingredient used in the antiviral medication Tamiflu. And, even without the addition of spices, black tea is a soothing beverage high in antioxidants that promote good health.

Very cool. Now I keep a stash of chai tea bags at home so when I wake up stuffy or with a sore throat….like today…I can just have spot of tea. I like to add a little vanilla and make it with hot water and a splash of tea.
Now I’ve always been a big tea drinker, I can drink gallon after gallon but I’ve also found that even a non-tea drinker…ahem..Kate…Like chai tea. Its a great natural way to remedy some of those icky blah feelings.
