Running In New York From A Small Town In Washington

Thanks to the lovely Xbox Kinect, I just took a 20 minute jog in downtown New York from my living room. I ran past Madison Square Garden, The Flatiron Building, The Empire State Building, plus tons of other cool places I’ve only seen on TV or in pictures. Even had my own personal tour guide along the way giving little nuggets of information! It was awesome! Next stop: London! I will be a world traveler yet!

Click image for source

The only and only kinect game we have is Your Shape: Fitness Evolved 2012. Its a pretty fun game. Tonight, I just used to it to get a little extra cardio in after I completed Bob Harper’s Ripped Core DVD. I feel like this DVD isn’t quite as tough as some of the others I have but I do sweat a lot. It just not super aerobic. And its only 48 minutes long, so I like to add a little extra something else after it. My abs, however, are still crying.

Lately, it seems like things are a roller coaster around here. I’ve been dealing with some personal issues that have led to bad cases of over eating, and bingeing. Like to the point where I ate so much I ended riding porcelain pony (according to Blake’s grandma, hilarious!) although in my case it was a bush outside. I don’t need to get into details. Finally, yesterday, I realized what I was doing or more importantly why I was doing it, why I was so upset all the time and I was able to get a handle on it. Its funny how that works sometimes. I find that I definitely have to get my emotions out to get a better grip on them, either by talking, writing, or sometimes crying my eyes out but once I get them out, I’m able to move on and get over it.

Moving on.

Yesterday was Taco Tuesday around here. We really should make this a weekly occurrence because it was delish. And Blake loves tacos. tacoI had a tilapia taco with coleslaw mix minus the dressing, mango salsa, and lime mayo. Plus the same thing on the side without a shell and some spanish rice.

Lately, when I’m cooking something new…it sucks. Too many things haven’t turned out… So I just did this nice and easy. I baked a tilapia loin sprinkled with a bunch of taco seasoning. The mango salsa was from this recipe on Simply Recipes. Which was inspiration from this video, seriously this girl is such an inspiration. Then for the lime mayo I just mixed a ton of lime juice with low fat mayo, I like tacos with a little sauce. The lime juice really made the mayo go a long way, I only used 1 tbsp (for 15 calories!). This dinner was so good, I had it for lunch today. I’m totally one of those people that can eat the same thing over and over and over and be happy about it. I even contemplated having the same thing for dinner tonight but went with breakfast instead: eggs, turkey sausage, and a whole wheat english muffin. Yum-o!

I’m not sure where I stand in weight loss this week. I haven’t been weighing myself which is actually a good thing. Weighing myself everyday is one of those things I wish I didn’t do but keep doing. Like biting my nails. I don’t think weigh in everyday is bad thing, I just wish I didn’t feel so compulsive about it. As long as I keep under my calorie limit and keep working out something will happen, right?

Sometimes the best results don’t happen on the scale. But that’s a topic for another post!

I hope things are treating you well!

 

One thought on “Running In New York From A Small Town In Washington

Comments are closed.