Love Yourself Unconditionally

One of the ways I stayed motivated is by using Instagram to follow like-minded people. It all started with past contestants from the Biggest Loser, then I found some other people who are also trying to lose weight and be healthy. Now I have a bunch of people that I follow who post sweaty pictures, healthy meals, and inspirational quotes. These things really help to inspire and motivate me.

I kind of feel stalkerish because I don’t know these people but I love following them and some even have blogs or youtube channels which I also follow, but hey if they didn’t want to be cyberstalked they wouldn’t allow strangers to follow them right?!

The other day of the girls I follow posted a youtube video and it really resonated with me. You can check out her video here, I feel like embedding it would be wayyyyy to stalker like. A couple of high notes, or things that really stuck with me. She said she’s tried to lose weight before and didn’t really succeed but it’s happening this time because she’s never had self hate. I totally related to this, for years I’ve hated myself, in the last few months I’ve said goodbye to that hate. The biggest changes have come in the last few weeks, which of course, has helped me to hit huge milestones. The moment I looked in the mirror and thought, I’m beautiful, is the moment my weight started to matter less and less and ironically when the pounds started to come off. I started being happy with who I am, and what I look like right now and then I started to see changes in myself. I started to feel strong. I started to feel skinny. Which makes me work harder because I love myself, I’m so proud of me that I want to do more for me. I’m pretty self-centered, this I know.

Loving myself is fueling my weight loss. I thought losing weight would make me happier but turns out loving me for me is what makes me happier.

IMG_2823I created this screen saver on my phone to remind myself. Just to be clear, I stole the photo from pinterest and just added the words. Not my original image. I picked this image because it’s a strong reminder to love yourself regardless of what the scale says.

And then the other screen looks like this:

IMG_2815I love this one because its a reminder that I have to work to make my goals a reality, I just can’t wish for things to happen. (Also taken from pinterest.) How many times have you heard people say “I want to lose weight” but they aren’t actively trying. You can’t just want something. It doesn’t work that way. When you want a new sweater you don’t sit at home thinking about sweaters, hoping one will magically appear. You have to go out and get it! You have to think of goals just like that sweater.

You do have to work for what you want, but if you love yourself unconditionally it will be a lot easier. I’ve been there, I’ve hated myself for way too long, now that I’m on the other side of I can tell you the grass really is greener over here. Just hop over that fence and see for yourself!

 

 

*Disclaimer: I am in no way an expert on anything except myself, my life, and my personal opinions.

2 thoughts on “Love Yourself Unconditionally

Comments are closed.