Top 5 Food Groups & A Recipe

I’ve been joking about my Top Five Food Groups my whole life. You know the five categories of foods you love the most….in no particular order…

Gravy. All types of gravy. Brown, white, sausage…I love gravy. Should be on the list twice I love it so much.
Bread. Bread is my lifeline. I HAVE to keep my bread eating in check, if not I will eat a loaf of French Bread every chance I get. I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve picked up a load at the grocery store and finished half of it on the drive home.
Chocolate. Chocolate is of course its own food group. No one would dispute that.
Spaghetti and its close relatives. Spaghetti with marinara is my favorite food. OF ALL. I was once told that only poor people love spaghetti. After I punched that guy in the face (that part was dream, but I wish I could have) I decided that I have no problem with being poor as long as I get to eat tons of spagetti.
Breakfast. I love all aspects of breakfast, pancakes, eggs, biscuits and gravy (goes back to number one!)

The last one brings me to the recipe I have to share! I’m not sure where Overnight Oats started but I first saw them on Kath Eat Real Food but they are all over the internet now.

The Best Overnight Oats….EVER. Or that I’ve ever made.

IMG_2834 The Oats:
1/3 cup quick oats
1/3 cup milk
1/3 cup vanilla Greek yogurt (I used half of a Dannon Oikos container)1/2 banana
splash of pure vanilla extract

Mix all those ingredients together in a jar or bowl and put in the fridge overnight. I used a spoon to smash up the banana as mush as possible. I also have this weird obsession with saving all jars (I blame Pinterest for my hoarding) that come into my house so I made mine in small jar.

Topping:1/2 cup frozen wild blueberries thawed
1/4 cup vanilla granola

Put these the toppings on when ready to eat. I like to put half the granola on at time so I don’t get to the bottom and have no crunchies left.

Oh my goodness. Delish! The thing I love about oatmeal is that it can be whatever you want, use anything you have on hand. Versatility!

 

 

*Disclaimer: I am in no way an expert on anything except myself, my life, and my personal opinions.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Food Groups & A Recipe

  1. trikatykid

    I am the only person I’ve ever met who does not like gravy! Every Thanksgiving people try to te me to try their “world’s best gravy” and every year it ruins my perfectly good piece of turkey! I need to think about my food groups.. I’ll get back to you.

Comments are closed.