I AM.

As well as things have been going over here, today was not the best day. At least, it didn’t started out too well.

I felt like giving up.

This weight loss journey is tough sometimes. It takes a long time. It takes day after day commitment. When other people are drinking soda, you have to choose water. When other people are eating cupcakes, you have to walk away. Every time. Or at least most of the time. I just sat at work feeling sorry for myself, wishing I could be naturally thin like other people.

But you know what, I don’t want to be like other people. I want to be me. After I got over the poor me bit, I remember this moment in one of my college classes where the professor had us share who we are using “I am” sentences.

I am a wife. I am a daughter. I am a friend. I am a triathlete. I am a finisher.

As I wrote these things down in my little book where I collect my thoughts, I stopped right there at the last one. I am a finisher.  I was only thinking in terms of Bloomsday this year. That’s not enough.

I want to finish this. I want to finish this weight loss journey. I am a finisher. I have to finish. If I was running, I wouldn’t dare give up in the middle of the run, so what gives. I have no reason to quit. I have no reason to give up.

I took my ass home. I went grocery shopping and did not put one piece of junk in my cart. I started a healthy bean soup dinner. And I sweated more than ever. I did one of Jillian’s DVDs and at the beginning she said something like you have to put everything you’ve got into this. So I did. I was grunting and panting and sweating like you wouldn’t believe. And you know what? It helped. I feel good. I feel great.

I feel ready to take on tomorrow. I’ve packed my breakfast, I’m about to pack a healthy lunch. I’m going to give tomorrow my all.

Until then friends, keep your head up! Yes, some days are hard but then you kick ass and it makes it totally worth it.

I’d love for you to share some of your “I am” sentences. Pretty please!

 

