Chicken Tortilla Soup

One of the staples in our lives is Chicken Tortilla soup, we typically have it at least once or twice a month. With this cold kicking my butt, I knew soup would be the answer tonight.

Here’s my recipe,

Chicken Tortilla Soup
1 tsp olive oil
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts cut into bite size pieces
1 jalapeno, diced
1 bell pepper, any color, diced
1 yellow onion, diced
2 carrots, dieced
1 can of unsalted corn, drained
1 can diced unsalted tomatoes
taco seasoning or use this recipe for diy taco seasoning
3-4 cups of low sodium chicken stock/broth

Heat the oil in a large pot. Cook the chicken in the oil until browned. Removed chicken from the pan and add the jalapeno, onion, carrots, and bell pepper to the remaining oil. Cook until soft, about 10 minutes. Add in the corn and tomatoes. Next add in the seasoning and broth. Let simmer for 30 minutes. Serve with tortilla chips.

I used my new dutch oven pot to make my soup tonight. I love this pot! It was from a Christmas gift exchange.

veggies cooking

Also my husband’s mom gave me this Tortilla Soup seasoning straight from Mexico so I decided to try it out.

tortilla soup seasoning

Typically, I leave out the tortilla chips but we have those hint of lime chips and I couldn’t resist. Plus a little sprinkle of cheese. This soup was pretty darn good, it definitely made me feel better. The spice was perfect for my cold. Plus its packed with vegetable, so lots of healthy, healing vitamins.

tortilla soup

I love that this soup is so versatile. You can add anything, or leave anything out if you don’t like it or don’t have it on hand. I’ve also used a leftover rotisserie chicken in the past. I wanted to add beans but I forgot to soak them overnight, whoops.

Let me know if you try it!

One thought on “Chicken Tortilla Soup

  1. Pingback: Chicken Tortilla Casserole | Off the Hook Cooking

Comments are closed.