Plan to Succeed

I love lists. Seriously. I make list of everything at work, to do lists, grocery lists, lists of all my other lists. I’m a list making girl. Even if I never look at the list a second time, just writing them out helps me to get things done. It’s my learning style. I learn by moving or doing. As a kid, I was a super star at memorizing Bible verses, like I went and won competitions. As I memorized these verses, I would spin around in circles (slowly). Everyone thought I was weird, but hey it worked! Anyway, back to lists. I keep this little notebook in my purse where all my lists are kept.

menu and green tea

Enjoyed some piping hot green tea while I made my list today.

I’m really starting to enjoy meal planning. At first I thought it was a hassle, but things have gotten easier and more fun now. When I’m making our dinner menu for the week I sit down with my with my little notebook and think about all the stuff we have in our fridge and cabinets. We usually have a meal or two leftover from the week before. Then I look through my cookbooks or my Pinterest boards for things I’ve pinned recently that look good.

Making a meal plan for the week really helps me to keep my head in the game. I like to pre-plan what I’m going to eat so I’m not running to the store when I’m hungry and end up with a doughnut in my hands.

When I’m picking meals I try to pick dishes that use some common ingredients like if one recipe calls for ground beef, I look for others that use ground beef so I can buy it in bulk and save a little money. Plus there is just two of us, so don’t need to use a whole pound of beef for one meal. Blake doesn’t eat leftovers, so I try to make things with just a few servings. I also have to keep in my mind my work schedule for the week. I like to do easy dinners or something in the crockpot on nights I work because I work until 6 pm. I also tend to only plan for 4 or 5 nights at a time because I don’t want things to go bad in the fridge.

With all that said, here’s what I’ve planned for the week:

Skinny Chicken Alfredo. Supposed to have this last week but it never happened.
– BBQ pork taco using leftover pork from last weeks pork roast- Wagon Wheel Beef Soup Except with whatever type of pasta I have in the cupboard.

Typically, I don’t plan lunches or breakfast. I usually have leftovers for lunch, but this week I’m really hoping to have some scale movement so I’m having “Super Salads” all week. Lettuce, a little bit a spring mix, alfalfa sprouts, cucumber, tomatoes, hard boiled egg, sunflower seeds, shredded cheese and tiny amount of ranch. This Super Salad comes in at only 302 calories and its huge!

IMG_2983

I’m also planning to have this Mean Green Smoothies as my snack each day. And breakfasts will be oats or eggs, right around 350 calories. This menu plan will keep me full of veggies and its low in calories. I really want to see some scale movement this week! Should be a great week!

 

