5 Miles Good, 6 Miles Painful

I’ve been pretty confused with my runs lately. The first long run of this year felt fantastic, but the rest have been sub par. I mean side aches, pain in both knees, the works. And it sucks. Especially, the last two weeks when I upped my mileage a little bit to six miles. Five miles fantastic, then run six miles I want to die!

I think I figured out why, though. The first week I had the day off, the rest of my long runs have been after I worked a full day! Duh, fresh legs will definitely feel better. Also I’m not so great at fueling after a day of work.  Shoot even when I’m running I’m pretty bad at figuring how to eat when I work so early in the mornings. I eat breakfast at 6:00 and then I’m hungry by 9:00!

The good news is while I was on my long run on Sunday, I found where I parked my jet!

IMG_3305

Its been missing for a while! I seriously love running by the airport, it feels like I could just reach out and touch a plane!

I also came across this cool memorial for Operation Sleigh Ride for the 87 airmen that died at Larson Air Force Base in 1952.

 IMG_3306

I live on the base now, although its no longer an air force base but the airport is pretty active! And a little bit annoying when I’m trying to sleep.

After my run we went out for a very special dinner…stay tuned for details coming tomorrow!

5 thoughts on “5 Miles Good, 6 Miles Painful

  1. Pingback: Two Years | Living Made Healthy

  2. emtucky

    Could you do your long runs on a morning when you don’t have to work, thus giving yourself “fresh legs” for those runs?

    1. mrsalexzan Post author

      Well I’ve been working 7 days a week for about two months now, but all that is changing next week so it looks like I will be able to run on fresh legs soon!

Comments are closed.