Moses Lake Spring Fest 10k Recap

Hello!  I sure hope everyone if off enjoying the day!

Thank you to all our servicemen and their families for their sacrifices made for our country.


Our town celebrates Memorial weekend with a big 4 day festival complete with carnival, parade, lip sync contest, concerts, a car show and even a movie in the park!  There is also a fun run and triathlon. (Trust me, I am no hurry to do another triathlon!) The company that organized the race, BuDuRacing is great! I was able to pick up my race packet the day before at the Civic Center, it took less than five minutes. Gotta love that!

I woke up early to make sure I could get breakfast in early enough that I wouldn’t get a stomach ache. I also managed to forget my bib number at home and realized when I was almost there so I had to turn around. Luckily, I was able to park within steps of the starting line.

IMG_3753

I felt pretty great at the start!

Sadly that went downhill pretty fast. Within two miles I was so miserable I turned off my Nike+ app because I just couldn’t handle hearing how slow I was going. I felt terrible. I had stomach pain and side stitches and chest pain. I wish I could explain it but I just can’t, all of my runs have been like this lately. I wanted to have fun not be miserable and in pain. So I walked when I needed to, and ran when I had second (or third or even fourth) wind!

In the end, I finished in 57 minutes, which isn’t too bad considering the circumstances. That put me 4th in my age group.

The is another 10k in two weeks that I was initially planning to run, it could be a comeback or might skip it. I just want to wait and see how I feel. I find my focus shifting a little bit from running right now. Right now, I’m just enjoying life. I don’t need to force myself to run when it feels terrible, there are other ways to get my workouts done. Running will always be there.

IMG_3759

Here’s the race tee.

Anyway. That the race. I feel pretty refreshed starting this week. I’ll be back later today with a workout plan.

