Baby Alexander Update [1st Trimester]

Monday’s are usually the day that I plan out my workout schedule, but this week I’ve decided to “wing it” and now let talk about what’s really on my mind!

baby

Up until now, I’ve been worried about talking about all things baby on the blog because it was early, and a part of me felt like I didn’t deserve to talk about being pregnant before the end of the first trimester, but this week marks 13 weeks, so now its fair game.

On Saturday, we had our first official ultrasound…oh my word! It was the most amazing experience of my life! I know everyone says that, but really its true. I saw this little person with arms and legs moving around. It was unreal but made it so real at the same time.

I’ll admit, I had this nagging fear that something bad happened and the baby wouldn’t be there. Seeing the little life was made on that screen made me feel like a million bucks.

And then brought on a million other worries. Will I be a good mom? Will my baby love me? Will I be able to breastfeed? And the list goes on…to some of the most ridiculous things.

Baby Details

The baby is now 3 inches long about the same length of the a pea pod and weights 1 ounce! He or she has fingerprints, vital organs are forming, and her little body is catching up to the size of her big noggin. Which means he or she will soon look like a human rather than an alien!

IMG_4405

Don’t you love how they label the baby – just in case you thought it was the other thing in there?!?

Baby Mama Details

To be honest, I’m still feeling pretty sick. I’m not surprised because I have a pretty sensitive stomach without pregnancy playing a part in the game. Its tough, I’m hoping things start to get better soon. They say things start to get better in the second trimester. Energy wise things seem to be getting better! I didn’t even feel like taking a nap yesterday or today…that’s an improvement.

My appetite is ever so weird. To combat the nausea I have to eat…all the time…the thing that makes me sickest is having an empty stomach. Veggies are no go and sometimes meat. I really try to get enough veggies by eating the ones that sound good, like peas, corn, bell peppers, and cucumbers. Also potatoes….are potatoes are a vegetable? Its hard to go grocery shopping when nothing sounds appealing. Pretty sure we left the store with $100 worth of cookies.

baby purchase

On the other hand, I had a great time picking out this cute little gender neutral outfit! Those little ducky feet are adorable! Dad-to-be picked the sippy cup! Its going to be a lot of fun buying more things, I can’t wait!

I definitely have to say that the excitement and happiness outweighs the sickness and yucky parts. Only 6 months until our little baby is here!

2 thoughts on “Baby Alexander Update [1st Trimester]

Comments are closed.