Gym Membership or No Gym Membership?

Is a gym membership a necessity?

For the life of me, I can’t figure out if I should keep my gym membership or not…

I’ve had a membership at South Campus Athletic Club for 3 or 4 months now but I’ve been really debating if I really NEED it. Since becoming pregnant, I’ve struggled to get the gym as much as I’d like to, sometimes I’m sick or tired or just plain lazy. And the truth is, I lost all the weight without the gym.

Its best to make a pros & cons list:

PROSI enjoy the group exercise classes.
Treadmill usage in the heat/cold
Bigger variety of weights

CONSCan’t usually get the classes due to the schedule/work.
Its overcrowded.
I don’t really know what to do with all the equipment.
It costs $45/month.
Not using it as often as I’d like

 

The biggest con for me, is the cost. Its not easy for to spend $45 each month. I’m a huge worrier especially when it comes to money and bills. Obviously, its not the biggest bill ever, but it feels like a lot when I feel like I don’t really need it. I could workout at home. I have plenty of DVDs, several sets of hand weights, even a punching bag!

My gut says cancel my membership, I just worry about the winter when its icy, and yucky outside. I don’t feel comfortable running when there is ice because I am very clumsy. I’ve fallen plenty of times on run with only my feet in the way.

What do you guys think? Do you have a gym membership?

 

7 thoughts on “Gym Membership or No Gym Membership?

  1. Kari (@weightingplace)

    Hae you ever thought about buying a treadmill? We neded up getting one this year becuase I hated driving to the gym just to go one the treadmill. You could put your gym membership $$$ towards a treadmill. :)

  2. Sabrina

    I had a gym membership last year and I was paying about $22 a month. There were no group classes, but they had a decent selection of machines and weights plus a locker room with showers. I enjoyed my time there, but i never did anything there that I couldn’t do at home. In hindsight, it was a great motivator and paying kept me accountable for going (mostly). But when I made my own pro/con list I decided to cancel my membership.

    Hey, you can always go back!

  3. Stephanie (@AaHSteph)

    Can you put your gym membership on hold? When I had a gym membership I would put it on hold for the summer months (they allowed you to hold for 4 months every year) and that would drop my payments to only $5 and I wouldn’t have to pay the stupid sign up fees when it became winter and I wanted to work out inside more.

    Honestly though, if they don’t have daycare there you may not be able to use it much after the baby is born anyway. If you can still work out without it, I’d say do that until the baby comes and you figure out what is best for your new little family!

    1. mrsalexzan Post author

      They do offer daycare but not until the baby is a year old, so that’s not very beneficial for a while.

      Luckily they don’t charge sign-up fees so I went ahead and cancelled it for now!

Comments are closed.