Baby A Update: 16 Weeks

Hello! Its a fresh new week, we have plenty to talk about this week. Let’s start with the baby update!

baby

Baby Details:

Actually this week was pretty stinking boring! Baby A now weighs about 5 ounces and is the size of the turnip. Which just makes me think of Princess Peach!

Baby is getting stronger, his or her heart is pumping a way, and the ear bones are in place so he can hear mama and daddy. Daddy (and Nana) talk to the baby more than I do, I find it a little bit weird but I’m warming up to the idea. The baby is also developing face muscles which means facial expressions like frowning and squinting. Pretty cool. Over the next few weeks the baby will go through a little growth spurt and double in size!

Don’t tell Dad but I picked up another little outfit today! It was only $2, and Blake will love it. If Baby A turns out to be a girl she can wear a cute little red flower headband with this one.

USA onsieWe haven’t decided if we would find out the gender or not, but it seems like we are leaning towards letting it be a surprise. Seems like everyone’s rebuttal against the surprise is shopping, but I plan to buy all the big stuff like carseat, stroller, and crib in gender neutral colors so that we can use them for the next baby. That way there is more money for college tuition!

How’s Mama Doing?

Like I said, its been a pretty boring week. I wasn’t too sick, (yay!) but I also had a little bit of a bug that caused a pretty terrible headache and earache. The worst earache of all time. I love that my little bump is seriously growing! Also very cool!

week 16 baby bump

I have another appointment with my midwife next week, and I can’t wait to hear the baby’s heartbeat again!

I don’t really have anything else to discuss this week. Its been pretty normal, thank goodness!

In other news, I’ve decided to sign-up for a 10k race! I feel like I need something to help push me, and give me something to focus on. The past few week have been a little rough since I’ve been so sick, and I haven’t been able to run or workout as much as usual. Now that I’m feeling better and I think its the perfect time to do another race! My original plan was to run the River Run half-marathon in Wenatchee on Sept 21, but I don’t feel ready for that yet. A 10k is the perfect distance, and worst case scenario I can walk if needed. I’m looking forward to it!

