Stomach Virus & Blogging

Hi friends! How’s things going?

Over here, things are a little rough. I left work this morning less than two hours after arriving. Turns out I have a little stomach virus and spent all morning “call for dinosaurs” as my hubs and his friend call it. Luckily, my primary care physician was able to squeeze me in this afternoon and gave me a shot of Zofran, an anti-nausea and vomiting medication that is safe for unborn babies. The doctor said it will probably take me a week or so to feel normal, but the biggest concern is keeping hydrated so the baby is getting enough nutrients.

I’m actually feeling better now that I’m able to get some food in my belly that stays down. I just finished a deliciously boring dinner of toast and chicken noodle soup. Now I have to wait up until 10 pm, because I need to take another dose of medicine.

On the bright side, I did get to hear Baby Alexander‘s heartbeat today! My doctor checked it just to be sure, but everything was good! He did tell me that the heartbeat was between 130-140 beat per minute. Which was really cool, because my midwife never told me the number of beats. I can’t wait until my appointment with my midwife next week.

So in other news, there is something I’ve been wanting to talk about for a while now. I mentioned this in my post about blog school, but I’ve felt kind of stuck with blogging for several months. You see, this was a weight loss blog. Then a few months ago, I realized for the first in my life I was happy with my body.

Last week I was talking to a coworker about how I’m happy with the way I look, I just want to lose 20 more pounds in order to fit the standard set by the BMI chart. Well, I’m over it. I don’t need to fit the standard set by some doctors who know nothing about me. I am healthy. Sure I have some extra fat, but I am a healthy 26 year old woman. Being healthy is so much more than weighing a certain amount. Its more than fitting a chart. Its more than a certain size of pants.

Its taken a long time to get to this point. Man, it really feels liberating!  Being healthy is about feeling good. Its about letting go of the self hate. Its about enjoying life. Its about living!

I’ve changed my life in the last few years, and I feel so refreshed and recharged going to this stage of life. Life is good!

Those are my exact words. I always thought I had to reach some magical goal weight, then I would finally be happy. Turns out that’s not really the case. It just kind of happened…less and less hatred each day until poof it was gone. This was great news for me and it feels really, really great. (Especially as I’m getting a little softer with baby fat.)

But where does that leave me with blogging? This was a weight loss blog. If I’m not losing weight, I can’t exactly write about weight loss anymore. Now what?

The truth is I don’t particularly want to write about weight loss right now. Sure, I’m still eating healthy, and I’m still working out when I’m feeling good. I’m also enjoying life and enjoying food, the other day I had a couple chocolate chips on peanut butter toast for breakfast. And I lived to write about it. HA. 

My struggle with blogging started when I felt like I had nothing to write about because I’m not actively trying to lose weight.

Except that there are plenty of things I want to write about, things about life in general. Like the stress of trying to buying a house, wifely things, Mama-to-be things, and other things that just deal with me and living life, having fun, and enjoying myself. (And yes about living healthy, but in way that comes more naturally to me.) I want to write about the struggles and the triumphs of everyday life!

And that’s what I’m going to do. I’m officially declaring this a blog about life! My life.

And that brings a smile to face.

 

But now it is way past 10, I’ve taken my meds so better get some sleep! Have to work in the morning!

2 thoughts on “Stomach Virus & Blogging

  1. Kate Byers (@katebyersrd)

    Hi Erin! I’m new to your blog and “found” you by way of the entries to Blog School. I think we’re due right around the same time! I’m due February 8th! This is our second baby – we have a 2-year old daughter as well. So sorry you’ve been sick and hope you are 100% soon!

Comments are closed.