Baby A Update: Weeks 18 & 19

Hi there!

First of all, thank you so much for your support on yesterday’s post. It touches my heart to have so many friends through this blog, some who are virtual friends only. And especially the friends I made at FitBloggin, it amazes that me that one weekend has led to so many forever friends! I am so thankful to have my blog as an outlet and to have support from all of you.

Now in my quick absence from blogging, I missed a baby update and that is just unacceptable! So this week we have a double update.

baby

The truth is that nothing really excited happened in week 18 anyway! But this week had been pretty awesome because I feel baby move around a lot! Like a ton! The first kick felt like some one flicked me…but on the inside! When the baby is towards the front of my insides I can even feel it from the outside. Its very hard. Kind of like pushing on a ripe melon, I suppose. Feeling the baby move is really helping me to relax and worry less about losing it. That’s really been one of the hardest hurdles for my brain to jump over.

Baby Details:

The baby is as big as a mango or banana! Around 10 ounces and 6.5 inches long. Yay! Baby is starting to get some fat on it’s bones! Plus he is starting to swallow, which is good practice for his digestive system.

Mama Details:

Seems like things are starting to be pretty typical for me.

I’ve finalllllllly stopped puking so much, and now I’m actually gaining weight. I’m a little worried that its start to come on too fast because the number has crept on up pretty quickly over the last two weeks. But I’ve also been noticing that my fingers feel a little bit swollen in the mornings, so maybe its some water weight. I’m really not worrying about it too much, but I also don’t want to gain a lot of excess weight.

My nails are very strong. My skin is clearing up! (Thank goodness!)

Baby bump 20 weeks

My bump is definitely growing! I’m starting to feel it protrude more and more. I can totally feel the muscles in my lower back and belly that are supporting this little belly. By the end of the day, it kind of feels like I’ve been pushing my gut out all day long. I’ve also had more pains when working out, but nothing too bad. I’m trying to remember to put cream on my belly, but its just not happening! I’m not super worried about stretch marks because I already have some from when I gained weight after high school.

I am having trouble sleeping. I can’t figure out why being pregnant makes it hard to sleep! I’m not waking up because I’m uncomfortable or have to pee. Its bizarre! And not its not fair!

Mostly, I’m just anxious! I can’t wait to meet my baby! We are now halfway, but man its taken forever to get here! I’m also waiting for us to figure out our house situation (we are hoping to buy a house soon!) so that I can decorate the nursery. I am currently working on refinishing a dresser for the baby’s room. It turns out the dresser originally came from my great-grandfather on my father’s side. We actually brought it with us when we moved from Indiana when I was in the 3rd grade! It will be very cool to tell the baby about it. Its something I will be proud to show off! There is just too much waiting for babies to arrive! Thankfully there is pinterest to keep me entertained!

I did, however, experience a very special moment the other day. The baby moved toward the outside of belly where I could feel it as I was waking up, and I said, “Good Morning Baby! ” Then promised to be the best mama possible, and a few tears rolled down my checks. I haven’t really embraced the whole talking to my belly thing. It seems silly to me. But in that moment, it was very special, even though it seems silly when I re-tell the moment.

So far so good! We have our next ultrasound on Saturday! I just can’t wait to see the baby again! Just want to make sure its growing right!

I also have a great post in the works about how I am modifying regular workouts and workout DVDs to work for me while pregnant! Here’s a picture I took pre-workout today!

pregnant workout

4 thoughts on “Baby A Update: Weeks 18 & 19

  1. Pingback: Baby A Update: 21 Weeks | Living Made Healthy

  2. Pingback: Baby A Update: 22 Weeks | Living Made Healthy

Comments are closed.