Wonderful Weekend!

What a nice weekend this has been!

The husband and I spent most of the time at home, but we sure got a lot done! With trips out of town the next two weekends, staying home was exactly what the doctor ordered!

We got some things done that really make me happy.

One of the big things I’ve been dealing with is just feeling blah! I feel like its partly because I sit at a desk 8 hours a day with no windows and no sunshine. And then I come home to house that I/we don’t love, that just doesn’t feel homey.

Half of that is easy enough to fix! Even though we are currently in the process of getting approved to buy our own house, I can make this house feel homey! I need to hang pictures and rearrange things…add some bright and cheerful colors. Fairly easy stuff. The truth is, we moved into this house during a very tough time and we just never made it ours. I have plenty of decor and ideas…hopefully I will just have to pack it up soon but its worth it!

Next big project: I finished refurbishing the baby’s dresser! At least for the most part, there is one thing left to do before I do a big reveal but I pretty much love it!

I started to put her things away! (Sneak peek)

2013-10-26 16.48.56-2She has just one tiny little diaper and small pack of wipes that came in sample box from the doctor!

Most of her clothes are still on the hangers in the closet…I figure I might as well wait to wash everything until we get more so that I can do a whole load.

2013-10-27 18.59.40Here’s some of my most recent purchases!

2013-10-27 18.58.30Seriously, everything is so stinkin’ cute! I just can’t help but buy it! I had to run Walmart for eggs and warned Blake that going unsupervised wasn’t wise!

2013-10-26 15.40.38Next weekend, we are heading out to finish/make a baby registry. I started it online, but I think as first-time parents it will be easier and helpful to see the stuff in person. Feel free to leave me tips! I feel totally overwhelmed when I’m choosing things.

Part of getting ready for the baby and making this house feel more homey was clearing out her room. It was full of junk but now its just baby stuff! Its so exciting! We aren’t painting the walls since we are planning to move, but I still want the room to be ready in case we are still here when she makes her debut!

Next I used today to get some food prep done! I haven’t done that in a while…

I chopped up some veggies for snacking, and I have everything ready for navy been soup, just has to go in the crockpot tomorrow morning.

2013-10-27 15.47.56-2I also made a batch of corn bread muffins to go with the soup. And baked a couple loaves of pumpkin bread!

2013-10-27 18.56.46One for taking to work next week and one to enjoy at home!

Lastly, Blake and I had a nice dinner out.

2013-10-27 17.36.36

Delish. I was really craving a steak and potatoes. I feel really great about my eating this week so it was nice to splurge a little.

2013-10-27 18.01.57Then we shared the cheesecake.

To. die. for.

Perfect weekend. Blake and I also walked a 5k for a virtual race I needed to get done, but more on that tomorrow!

I’m feeling pretty great about this weekend and I’m going in to this week will a sunny outlook! Its another busy week at work, so I need the pep.

Its been a perfect weekend…What did you do this weekend?

Any tips for beating the office blues?

Or things I need to add to the baby registry? Things to leave off?

Let me know!

 

 

 

