Baby A Update: Second Trimester

Happy Tuesday! One day closer to the weekend, right?!

babyAs of today, Baby Alexander is officially 27 week and 2 days, so we are now starting the 28th week which means the start of the 3rd trimester!

Things are seriously looking up since my last update! I’m feeling better emotionally, my follow-up regarding my weight was good, and my test for gestational diabetes was negative.

Whew.

After my last appointment I was feeling pretty terrible. I really felt like I was the only person worried about gaining too much weight, everyone else seemed to think I shouldn’t worry about it. I’m now following a high protein, low carb diet. (And I don’t mean diet in the terms of weight loss, its just what food I’m eating!) Way less sugary treats, fewer servings of bread and pasta, and fewer servings of fruit.

Ironically, this is the kind of diet you would eat if you were diagnosed with gestational diabetes. I DO NOT have gestational diabetes, but she still wants to me follow this eating style for the most part. Let’s be honest, I was seriously worried I would have it, so its a huge a relief to be in the clear.

baby bump 27 weeksSo now let’s move on to more interesting stuff…I thought it would be fun to do this pregnancy survey!

My age: 26

How far along: 28 weeks

How big is baby: A head of cauliflower! Around 2.5 pounds and 16 inches long from head to toe.

What have you been up to: Just working a lot and prepping for the weeks to come.

Exercise/Activity Level: I admit my workouts having been lacking. Workouts are tough! Things hurt, I get out of breath so easy…even just walking.  I just have to get over it, and do it.

Maternity clothes:  I’m all about the stretchy pants. I also found some of my larger pants from when I was bigger, so I’ve been wearing those occasionally.

Stretch marks: No new ones, but my old stretch marks show more now.

Belly Button: Its in! I have huge belly button, so I’m not even sure it will pop out. It is a little bit flatter now.

Sleep: Different every night! I wake up several times each night probably 3-4 days a week. The other couple days I just crash and sleep so well!

Newest baby milestones this week: She’s adding new skills like blinking, coughing, sucking her thumb, and hiccuping!

Best Moment of the Week:  My dear friend, Tara, got some nice baby things for us. It was such a surprise and so thoughtful! Tara is my go-to for all things mommy related, she has three beautiful girls!

DSC_0046There is a couple of long-sleeve onies, a carseat cozy, a couple pairs of shoes, an adorable pink hoodie, and an owl toy! So cute!

Worst Moment of the Week: Worrying…and worrying…I worry way too much. I was also sick a few times this weekend.

Food cravings: Today I’m dying for a Pumpkin Pie Blizzard, but that’s because I made an ad for DQ today. I havn’t had any real “cravings” like everyone expects.

Food aversions: Not much but at the same time….everything. Some days I just don’t want to eat anything.

Symptoms: Nothing that I know of in terms of early labor or anything of that nature. Just a lot of heart burn.

Movement: Oh boy. She’s a mover. I feel her most of the day, today was cool because I felt a kick up high so maybe she head down for a little bit. It feels like she flips around a bunch.  There was also a funny moment this weekend, when she was super low when I was walking into the store! It made walking difficult, even Blake could tell she was down low.

Gender: Girl

What I’m looking forward to: Find a house so I can really start to plan her nursery! And my baby shower next month.

What I’m nervous about/praying for: Everything to go smoothly from here out. Its been pretty easy so far, I just want it to continue this way.

What I miss: Sushi….feeling “normal” especially during my workouts.

Next appointment: Two weeks from yesterday.

That was a long survey! I might need a nap now….

For now its time to get a few things done around the house before bed.

If you missed any baby update, you can find them here:

 

