Home Gym Necessities On A Budget

I don’t know how it happened so fast, but 2014 is right around the corner and people are starting to think about their New Year’s Resolutions!

At the top of the list is ALWAYS something like lose weight, get in shape, or workout more, right? I’ve been there year after year trying to lose the weight that was holding me back. (But more on that later…)

I’ve always been more successful at home rather than having to go to the gym. I have no idea why! Maybe its a comfort level thing. I’m not afraid to look crazy or workout my ass off in my living room.

Today I’m going to share with you the essentials for having your own home gym while on a budget! I promise that you don’t have to spend a lot of money to be successful at home. You also don’t have to a ton of equipment. Or a lot of space, I do workout in my living room.

Here are the essentials:

1- A variety of hand weights/dumbbells. Its best to buy them one set at time getting heavier as you start to need them. Typically at Walmart or Target you will pay a little over a dollar a pound but check places like TJ Maxx or Ross, even second hand stores – you can find a them a little bit cheaper. Price Range: $5 and up (depends on weight)

2- Yoga Mat! This is a serious must have even if you don’t do yoga! It will add some extra cushion when you are stretching, or doing ab work or push up. If you have hardwood floors like me, it also helps to keep some of the dirt away because no matter how much I sweep there is still dirt everywhere!

I also buy these at Ross or TJ Maxx! They usually have cute patterns and great prices but I’ve also purchased them from Walmart for about $10, I can’t understand paying more than 15 bucks for one of these. Price Range: $7 and up.

3- Some sort of timer. Essential for doing HITT or tabata style workouts. Personally, I just use a free app on my iPhone called RoundTimer. But you can find an actual timer basically anywhere, this one from Gymboss is very popular because you can clip it on your clothes so it easy to access. Price Range: Free and up. Approximately $20 for a Gymboss timer.

4- Workout DVDs. I’ve found the best way to get a full body workout consistently is by using at-home DVDs. There a MILLIONS of them out there…seriously, millions. Right now my Walmart has an entire section dedicated to workout DVDs that are only $9 each! I think the best way to stay focused and have fun is to have a variety of workouts at your fingertips. I’ve also bought them at yard sales or used from my bookstore. There also some available for free on YouTube.

Some of my personal favorites include ones from Bob HarperJillian Michaels, and The 15-Minute Solution series.

You could also purchase one of those at home programs like Insanity (which I tried) or P90x, if that is something that interest you. Some of them like Insanity don’t require any equipment, although I would recommend a yoga mat to cushion under your hands. Price Range: Free and up

That’s all it really takes, of course you could invest in some more expensive things, but its not necessary. Although my current wish list includes a nice sturdy treadmill.

I’m actually getting a little bit excited to starting getting back into shape after the baby comes!

IMG_3730.jpgGood Luck!

Any body else do at home workouts?

What are some of your favorite non-essential pieces of equipment?
Mine include my punching bag (gift from my hubs last Christmas) and my one and only  kettle bell! I need to use them more often!

 

2 thoughts on “Home Gym Necessities On A Budget

  1. Kari

    I love my gymboss timer! I also use a SworkitPro app for at home workouts. You set your time and choose the type of workout. It’s great. I prefer the gym (with the kids) because there are no interruptions, but do workout at home when I can. We bought a NordicTrac treadmill last year and it was def my best at home fitness investment.

  2. trikatykid

    I highly recommend perusing thrift shops for exercise equipment! You never know what you’ll find! And does it really matter if your dumbbells look like they came from 1972? As long as they have weight! TJ Maxx is also a favorite, if you’d rather have “new” equipment.. And you don’t have to have everything at once! Great post!

Comments are closed.